Skip to content

iPhone 4: AT&T or Verizon?

April 20, 2011

I get asked all the time whether people should buy the iPhone 4 on AT&T or Verizon. Here is all you need to know:

If you want to save money, AT&T is for you:

A1. AT&T has cheaper monthly pricing.
A2. AT&T has rollover voice minutes, so you will probably never run out of minutes.

If you are a world traveler, AT&T is for you:

A3. The AT&T iPhone 4 works if you are traveling outside of the United States, whereas the Verizon phone does not. The Verizon phone only works in the U.S.

If you care more about using the Internet than making phone calls, AT&T is for you:

A4. The AT&T iPhone 4 lets you use the Internet while you’re on phone calls; the Verizon one does not.
A5. The AT&T iPhone 4 has significantly & noticeably faster Internet speeds than Verizon.

On the other hand, if you care more about making phone calls than using the Internet, Verizon is for you:

V1. Verizon has MUCH fewer dropped calls than AT&T. AT&T is basically useless for making phone calls. It’s almost impossible to make a decent phone call with AT&T that doesn’t drop calls. In fact, I can’t remember a SINGLE PHONE CALL that I’ve ever made on my AT&T iPhone that DOESN’T drop calls. Then again, I only live in a tiny little uncivilized village known as Los Angeles that is home to only 100 or 200 people (and very unimportant people at that), so I can see why AT&T would choose to ignore a small unimportant area like Los Angeles. ;)

If you’re looking for good customer service, they both suck:

T1. T-Mobile is the leader in customer service, while AT&T and Verizon both suck in this area. Nobody can hold a candle up to T-Mobile in the customer service department, but alas, the iPhone isn’t available on T-Mobile. If I had to choose, I would say that AT&T is better at customer service than Verizon, because Verizon treats their customers contemptuously while AT&T is actually happy to have you as a customer.

So which do I use?

I use the AT&T iPhone 4. I like to consider myself a world traveler, traveling to multiple countries every year, so I would never be able to purchase the Verizon iPhone 4 because it only works within the United States. The Verizon iPhone 4 becomes a very expensive paperweight once you leave the United States. Furthermore, my customers rarely call me on my cell phone… they either email me or call me on my business landline. So using the Internet on my iPhone is much more important for me than making calls on my iPhone. Which is good, because you can’t really MAKE any calls with the AT&T iPhone anyways. :)


I hope you enjoyed this article. If so, please donate a small amount so that I can continue to post blog articles in the future:

Donate

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 892 other followers

