Skip to content

I love dictionary.com

May 30, 2009

I love that dictionary.com pronounces words out loud for me. I just learned today that my favorite pronunciation of mischievous (mis-chee-vee-uhs) is actually considered nonstandard.

By the way, speaking of awesome dictionaries, the Mac has a handful of awesome dictionaries built into it for free. So if you’re lucky enough to be using a Mac (the greatest computer on planet earth), you can right-click on any word at any time in any application and instantly lookup the definition of that word.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. herbertbarrywoodrose permalink
    July 2, 2009 1:40 PM

    I love all on-line dictionaries. I used to have a Dell and getting dictionaries always meant going on-line, which is fine. Now with my Mac I have something like 4 dictionaries that pop up immediately at a single click. One of them, made by the fantastic company Omni, sources something like 200 different dictionaries and fact-tables to give you an incredible number of answers to every word entered. But, I am a Mac snob. I blaahhg about it too.

    I was really just stopping by to grab this link to send to a friend. this guy I know is losing his mind lately over how much he hates Apple. The Iphone, the new 15″ Macbook – I mean this guy actually hates the Iphone! We’re talking about the phone that was going to die in the water because there was no way to even ENTER the handheld phone market – and ended up running away with it simply because it is instant fun. I keep saying “I can see why you’d pick another phone based on business applications – Iphone doesn’t have everything, Apple’s never been that kind of company that gives absolutely everything either. But for the people that can use it, the Iphone does not disappoint. It is in fact guiding the way to an aggressive, nearly constant, re-shaping and re-thinking of what a device that size can do. They do what they do well – but if it doesn’t suit your needs to begin with of course you would never be happy with it. It’s like desperately desiring a banana and then being angry at an apple for not being long, yellow and covered in a thick peel.

    But you know that of course, I’m just getting this link for my good friend that I haven’t seen in too long by the way.

  2. July 7, 2009 8:54 AM

    Hahaha… dude, you are the best. Thank you for putting things into perspective for me. And so glad that you’re thrilled with your first Mac. Now if only you weren’t such a snobby Mac blaahhhhger, maybe I’d hang out with you once in a while. 😉

  3. December 11, 2009 8:35 AM

    definitely going to have to check that out!

Leave a Reply

