Skip to content

What’s Your Password?

January 24, 2013

Here’s something that might surprise you.

I don’t know what any of my passwords are, and I can’t figure out what any of them are.

And that’s exactly how it should be. Because if I can’t figure out my own passwords, then hackers won’t be able to figure them out either.

All of my passwords are complex, random passwords like wj7xL2p4Q0dz3nY, and I have a different password for every single website that I visit.

Yet this doesn’t slow me down at all. I never need to remember any of these random passwords, I never need to copy-and-paste them into websites, and I never need to handwrite them into a notebook somewhere.

All I need to do is remember my one master password, which is a strong password that I can easily remember (such as scott@world?8472!), and I can instantly log into any website.

How do I do this?

I’m using the award-winning, best-selling program named 1Password. 1Password creates strong passwords for every website that I visit, and it securely stores all of my passwords for me.

Best of all, 1Password synchronizes all of my passwords between my Mac, my iPhone, and my iPad.

Why am I doing this?

I’m doing this to stay as safe & secure as possible on the Internet.

As you know, you need a different password for every single website that you visit. And if you’re like most Americans, you visit almost 100 password-protected websites per year.

So you probably decided a long time ago that it would be completely insane to come up with 100 different passwords, so you standardized on 2 or 3 passwords that you use for everything. Even worse, you probably made these passwords really easy to remember. And worst of all, you probably wrote down those passwords in a Microsoft Word or Microsoft Excel document, or you scribbled them down into your notebook in your desk.

I’m here to tell you that all of this is a terrible idea, because it makes it much easier for hackers to take over your entire identity, empty your bank account, and destroy your life. Because once a hacker breaks into the Zappos.com website or breaks into the Yahoo website (yes, this stuff happens all the time), they’re going to take your password and try to use that password on all the other sites on the web.

So if you’re using the same password everywhere, once the hackers get into one of your accounts, then they can easily get into all of your accounts.

So what’s the solution?

The solution is to come up with a unique, strong, and completely random password for each website that you visit.

This would be a major exercise in frustration if you had to do it on your own, but luckily,1Password easily & quickly manages the entire process for you. It’s so quick, it’s an almost-invisible process.

Whenever you visit a website, you just type in your one easy-to-remember password, and 1Password will type in your complex password for you.

(1Password will also securely store your credit card information as well. Just type in your one easy-to-remember password, and 1Password will type in all your credit card information whenever you’re ready to shop on the web. In fact, 1Password can store all of your confidential information, so nobody can see anything that you don’t want them to see.)

Contact ScottWorld to get help setting up 1Password!

If you would like to take control of your security & privacy with 1Password, just let us know and we’ll be happy to install, configure, and train you on 1Password for all your devices!

Sincerely,
Scott


I hope you enjoyed this article. If so, please donate a small amount so that I can continue to post blog articles in the future.

Donate

Who is ScottWorld? ScottWorld provides the best FileMaker consultants in Austin & Los Angeles.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

